America's SBDC Iowa Announces Portable Photo Studio Initiative

America's SBDC Iowa Announces Portable Photo Studio Initiative Main Photo

28 May 2021

Winn-Worth Betco delivers Portable Photo Studios to all communities

May 21, 2021 Melissa Michaelis of Winn-Worth Betco in partnership with America’s SBDC Iowa & NIACC Pappajohn Center has delivered portable photo boxes to Winnebago County communities.

These photo boxes have been provided to all communities to help businesses get their products online and able to post to, or on their own websites, to increase sales.

“We are delighted to announce our tremendous outreach project to distribute portable photo studios all across the state,” said Lisa Shimkat, SBDC State Director. “We have found throughout the pandemic, that access to quality photos for websites and e-commerce is essential as businesses are pivoting operations. The studios along with training resources will provide access to any small business in Iowa, including home-based businesses. The studios will be available at key places in communities.”

For additional information about the initiative, go to The webpage also includes a downloadable Portable Photo Studio & Digital Marketing Guide as well as a training video. “The photo box functions as a full photo studio in a portable box!” stated Michaelis. “All you need is a camera and an outlet, and you are set to start taking professional photos to post on your website or at”

Brook Boehmler, Director of the SBDC in the Pappajohn Center, states that “Businesses should start working on a minimum of 20% of their revenues to be related to their online presence and having a good picture of their products is the first step.” The Pappajohn SBDC provides no cost confidential business counseling to people who own or considering owning a business.

Locations where you can use and/or check out these photo boxes include:

End of Release


Those pictured below are:

  • Forest City: Norma Hertzer, Executive Director of Forest City Chamber of Commerce
  • Leland: Dawn Arispe, City Clerk
  • Scarville: Mary Hinderaker, City Clerk
  • Buffalo Center: Elaine Michaelson, Assistant Director of Library Services
  • Thompson: Fairy Lawrence, Director of Library Services
  • Rake: Virginia Cooper, Director of Library Services
  • Lake Mills: Cassie Johnson, Executive Director of LMCDC
  • Northwood: Morgan Johnson, Director of Library Services
  • Kensett: Barb Luckason, Assistant Librarian & Diana Parker, Library Board Representative
  • Manly: Connie Moretz, Director of Library Services
  • Fertile: Linda J. Arndt, Assistant Director or Angie Thompson, Library Director
  • Hanlontown: Barbara Kinseth, Director of Library Services
  • Grafton: Nancy Walk, Director of Library Services
  • Joice: Mardene Lien, Director of Library Services


Buffalo CenterBuffalo Center

Lake MillsLake Mills Chamber Development Corporation

City of LelandCity of Leland


ScarvilleCity of Scarville

Thompson Public LibraryThompson Public Library

Rake Public LibraryRake Public Library

Forest City ChamberForest City Chamber









Winn-Worth Betco is the Winnebago-Worth Counties Betterment Council. Winn-Worth Betco was established in 1991 by a group of forward-
thinking citizens to ensure that the area would see economic growth through organizing an economic development office. Winn-Worth Betco
serves the economic development interests in housing, tourism, community development, and business recruitment and retainment for
Winnebago and Worth Counties. The Executive Board is comprised of both the Boards of Supervisors of Winnebago and Worth counties.
The Advisory Board is comprised of representatives from all 14 incorporated communities in Winnebago and Worth counties as well as one
member of each of the county Boards of Supervisors in Winnebago and Worth counties.


Add to Report View Custom Report