Heartland Economic Development Course Provides Intensive Professional Development

26 Apr 2021

LAKE MILLS, IA, April 26, 2021 Melissa Michaelis of Winn-Worth Betco was one of 170 economic development professionals to attend the Heartland Economic Development Course (HEDC) in April.  Heartland attendees receive fundamental economic development training on topics ranging from business, retention and expansion, workforce development, real estate and entrepreneurship to marketing, finance, ethics and managing economic development organizations. 

The 2021 HEDC online class included representatives from Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Texas, Colorado, Minnesota, West Virginia, and Puerto Rico. Attendees were trained by nationally recognized faculty from within the profession of economic development. HEDC is coordinated by the Institute for Decision Making at the University of Northern Iowa and is accredited by the International Economic Development Council. 

“Heartland students learn about a variety of best practices that they can apply back in their own organizations and communities,” says Allen Kunkle, CEcD, HEDC Board Chair.  “Heartland provides a solid foundation upon which each developer can build their base of knowledge and experience.”  

The Heartland Economic Development Course is a partnership of the Kansas Economic Development Alliance, Missouri Economic Development Council, Nebraska Economic Developers’ Association, Oklahoma Professional Economic Development Association, Professional Developers of Iowa, and the South Dakota Governor’s Office of Economic Development.

End of Release


Winn-Worth Betco is the Winnebago-Worth Counties Betterment Council. Winn-Worth Betco was established in 1991 by a group of forward-thinking citizens to ensure that the area would see economic growth through organizing an economic development office.  Winn-Worth Betco serves the economic development interests in housing, tourism, community development, and business recruitment and retainment for Winnebago and Worth Counties.  The Executive Board is comprised of both the Boards of Supervisors of Winnebago and Worth counties.  The Advisory Board is comprised of representatives from all 14 incorporated communities in Winnebago and Worth counties as well as one member of each of the county Boards of Supervisors in Winnebago and Worth counties.


Add to Report View Custom Report